Forum - Banjo Ben Clark

How to structure practice sessions?

Hi. I’m completely new to learning the banjo, with no musical background whatsoever. I think the site is fantastic and Ben is a gifted teacher.
My question is this - is there a recommended way of structuring an individual practice session for the banjo? Things like warm up exercises, drills and so on as well as working through the lessons in the Learning Track.
At the moment I tend to start with Alan Munde’s finger control exercises, practice my g major scale and do roll practice before playing through tunes I already know. I’ll then get onto tge lesson in hand. How does this sound?
Any advice is gratefully received.
Have a great day everyone.

3 Likes

Hi Richard, @BanjoBen 's beginner learning path is structured so that you learn all the fundamentals in this section. There are no warm up exercises as such at least none that I recall. I know that other teachers do have these but to my knowledge there are none here. I believe Ben’s thinking is he wants you to have fun whilst your learning and not be burdened or turned off with boring exercises

As a NEW beginner I would encourage you to learn and practice all the roll patterns and chord shapes early on these are key to your advancement and you need to be fairly proficient knowing your roll patterns when you start adding embellishments . You could use these as your warm up session.

1 Like

I was in your position less that 3 years ago. No musical background, didn’t understand the language, discovering that my fingers would not go where they were supposed to go, and building callouses hurt!
So as a Beginner, here’s my expert advice:

1. Have fun. Never miss an opportunity to “play” the banjo.
  2. Use this Forum. It’s full of sound advice, warm encouragement & stuff you don’t understand today, but will in a couple weeks.
  3. There are many folks here who give great advice. Archie is one of them.