Forum - Banjo Ben Clark

How do I start? How do I get Tabs?

Hi Ben.
I am a new student trying to figure out how to navigate your lessons. I have been trying to follow your lesson on the G major scale. I think I understand the fundamental concept, but you refer to following along in the tabs. I haven’t figured out how to get tabs for you lessons. Have I missed a part of the introduction to this course? Please let me know how I should have started.

7 Likes

Hi Dave welcome to @BanjoBen 's Forum. If you scroll down the page below the video you will see the TABs on the right side of the page in PDF and TEF format. Below the TABs you will find that MP3 practice audio files. On the left of the page further segment videos of the lesson.

3 Likes

Thanks Archie! I found the tabs before getting your answer and I have been practicing scales with them. Can you give me any other tips on how to get started? Is there a particular series of lessons that should be followed in order?

3 Likes

What instrument?

2 Likes

Hi Dave I encourage all new banjo players to work through @BanjoBen 's Beginner’s learning path, there you will learn all the fundamentals to tackle any lesson on the site… It may seem a bit intimidating at first but as you work through each lesson you will gain the knowledge and skills to move forward.

Just remember it’s not a race take all the time you need to grasp the topic, Likewise don’t feel the need to play everything perfect before moving forward to the next lesson. Your progress will be determined by the time and effort you devote to each lesson not how fast you can rip through them. Ben has spent years constructing these lessons and assembling this learning path so make the most of your studies.