Forum - Banjo Ben Clark

Here Goes Nothing

I’m almost fearful of posting this due to the anticipated “onslaught” of responses (or not) !!!
I’m a current beginner of a few months and have a concern with the tone/sound of my banjo.
I’m well familiar with the adage of “it’s not the banjo, it’s the player” but, even as a beginner, I’m questioning that validity.
I own a Gibson ES Standard (2007 vintage) that has recently been expertly setup by Jake at the BBC store.
He did a fantastic job and made quite a few needed adjustments/modifications/improvements.
Problem is, basically, it does not have that “twangy”, banjo tone similar to Ben’s banjo and other professional players on the site. Jake was very thorough and was totally satisfied with the setup prior to returning the banjo. And, as such, I’m now wondering if it’s the banjo and not the player. Perhaps it’s simply the sound quality of the Gibson brand? I’m seriously considering a different manufacturer !!!
Any valid helpful advice, thoughts, ideas, suggestions, etc. would be appreciated before such a drastic move.
Thanks so much.

3 Likes

I would recommend trying in any way possible to play comparable banjos of different styles/woods and perhaps pots. It would be hard to play a large number of banjos with the setup held constant, but hopefully as you continue to go around and play them you may notice a consistent trend based on woods, manufacturer, etc. You may even be able to find another Scruggs Standard and compare it to yours.

1 Like

What @Michael_Mark said. People like different tones, and the only way to find what suits you is to play a bunch of them. Also, strings and head tension can make a pretty significant difference (and are easily changed).

But DO keep searching to find the tone that suits you. That will involve the instrument, the strings and setup and how you interact with it. It’s a fun journey!

1 Like

Welcome to the crazy world of trying to find “just the right sound!”