Forum - Banjo Ben Clark

Help!

I have failed :frowning_face:
I dropped my membership for a couple of reasons.
Primarily because I wasn’t practicing, so why keep paying.
When my mom passed in April, and while she was sick, it reminded me too much of her. Or at least I thought it would, so I wasn’t playing. May have just been the funk I was in. And probably am still in some, but am doing much better. I am a nurse, I am so thankful for aging, er, maturing…I am such a better nurse going through lifes “adventures”.
But I also am in a rut when I play.
I am trying to perfect before moving on.
And I am not perfect.
I don’t know if I have ever played through perfectly, anything. Also, haven’t memorized anything.
Even when I slow down, thinking that if I play slower I’ll be better, I don’t get them down perfect.

Is it ok to move on if I’m not playing perfect?
Moving on to intermediate from beginner is where I am.

What is ya’alls thoughts.

Thank you for your time

2 Likes

The point is to have fun. really. Some people have fun being perfect but others find that frustrating.

You don’t have to play a tune perfectly to learn another. It would be good to play daily the imperfect piece because with practice and knowledge you will play it better and better.

I find it is fun to learn new tunes. So if you find that fun, do it. Do whatever it takes to keep practicing daily because doing that will really improve your playing.

3 Likes

I am sorry for your loss. That is a tough thing to adjust to.

Just my opinion… feel free to pursue whatever causes you to stay motivated and enjoy playing. With that said, don’t neglect the basics. They give you a needed foundation. So in a nutshell, you don’t have to be perfect before trying something else, but keep working on the basics as well.

BTW, I am not sure I have ever played anything perfect.

2 Likes

Miss Peggy,

You have not failed! What courage you have… To have shared your thoughts, your feelings, your STORY and your soul with us.