Forum - Banjo Ben Clark

Help! I dont know how to practice!

I have been playing for 6 years (and learned to play several songs on this site years back) and i still dont know the right way to practice I know several songs and can play them but i dont appear to be getting any faster at playing them. …what am i doing wrong…

2 Likes

Easy…,you’re worrying too much. As a Beginner, I’m an expert on not playing fast enough. (for whom?)
The question of “how to practice” has been bantered about a lot here. I think I even asked the same question a couple months ago. The overall impression I got was to mix it up.
Let’s say you practice for an hour. The first 10 minutes should just be noodling around, loosening your fingers and making happy sounds. No songs, no licks, just banjo sounds.
The next 10 minutes might be playing an old song that you are familiar with. Again, just noodle around with it, but try to be precise with your fingering. Try to make it sound the way you want it to…not fast, just “together.”
Next 10 minutes, try working on a new lick. Thus will hurt your fingers and make terrible sounds, but tomorrow you will play it a bit better. Already a half hour is gone! (Normally at this point I would get a beer, but that’s not part of Banjo Ben’s teaching philosophy. Besides, it’s hard to hold a beer with finger picks on.)

For your next 10 minutes, play something fun. Your brain may be aching from the new lick, so it needs the comfort of an old friend. Play something you know and love, but try to work in that little “ornament” you practiced last week.
Now go back to that new lick you were working on 10 minutes ago. See if you remember anything.
Have you been using the TEF files? IF not, this is a good time to fire one up and play along with it. Since you can adjust the speed, play where it’s comfortable, then goose it up a little. This is a great way to increase your speed.