Forum - Banjo Ben Clark

Happy New Year from Newbie Keith From Missouri

Hi Gang,
My name is Keith from Missouri. I have been playing on and off for years. Self taught, if you want to call it that. Now that I really want to learn correctly all I have found is that I have years of bad habits to correct. I am a beginner / intermediate but I am going to start back at the beginning with the basics and see where I can go. I bought a membership to the site for a Christmas present instead of trying to convince myself that I just need a better banjo. Do you guys ever do that to yourselves? Well clearly if I had a more expensive instrument then my playing would get better immediately, right? Is is just me? :grin:
I have an Epiphone Model MB250 . It’s a good banjo and really all I need for now. I just have to get over the “it’s not me, it’s the instrument” syndrome.
Interestingly enough my musical career has always been that of a drummer. I was pretty good and kept great time. However for some reason whenever I pick a stringed instrument I always speed up. Anyway, I have a LOT to work on and I just wanted to say hi and Happy New Year.

3 Likes

Hi. Keith and Happy New year, you pretty much explained me right there in a nut shell, except i never played a musical instrument before this banjer stuff . i have 2 good banjos but i want them all lol.

1 Like

Hi Keith and welcome.

1 Like

I saw your profile proper now, Keith. Welcome.

I am in my 50s and just started about 1.5 years ago.

I am the polar OPPOSITE of you. While I am looking for a resonator Banjo - I have the hollowcack Epiphone MB-100 and I feel like the banjo I have is much better than me!

I just got up the courage to post my first song (see Worried Man Blues in Video Swap.

I really like Ben’s site and think you made a good decision to join. My wife notices my improvements since joining 6 months ago.

Welcome

1 Like