Forum - Banjo Ben Clark

Gunnar Salyer from Balama, Mozambique

GunnarSalyer%20(1)

What was it that first got you interested in playing the gutiar, mandolin or banjo?
I first got interested in guitar because my dad played and he taught me a few chords and bass scales. I was inspired to play banjo by banjo Ben’s lesson, Under the double eagle.

How long have you been playing and what’s your motivation to play?
I’ve been playing guitar for about two years, harmonica a year and a half, banjo just over a year, and fiddle eight months. My motivation to play comes from watching other musicians better than me, and the fact that I live in Africa, don’t have TV, and there’s not much else to do.

What’s your favorite lesson on Ben’s site and how has it helped you improve?
My favorite guitar lesson is a tough call, but probably a tie between Under the Double Eagle, and Angeline the Baker advanced. On banjo I really like Under the Double Eagle and Will the Circle Be Unbroken.

What’s your goal when playing?
My main goal when playing is to make music that is both enjoyable to play and to listen to.

What’s your favorite hobby?
Besides playing music, my favorite hobbies are riding dirt bikes, parkour, and reading.

How long have you been a Gold Pick member?
I’ve been a gold pick member since Christmas last year, but also learned a lot from banjo Ben’s youtube lessons.

What do you do for a living?
I’m only fifteen, and have no job yet, (I don’t have a work visa). I also play ukulele, bass guitar, trumpet (three months) and bamboo flute. I’m the second of eight kids under 18 (same parents, none adopted, no twins and only one girl.) My parents are Christian missionaries in the bush. I live in Balama, Mozambique