Forum - Banjo Ben Clark

Guilherme Espindola from Uberlandia, Brazil!

What was it that first got you interested in playing the guitar, mandolin or banjo?
Banjo is not a common instrument here in Brazil, so probably my first contact with banjos was watching American movies! Six years ago I had an opportunity to live and study in US, so it also became a great opportunity to buy a banjo and also learn how to play it.

How long have you been playing and what’s your motivation to play?
I’ve been playing since 2015 and I imagine myself in the future as an old man, playing some good songs on the banjo for my grandsons.

What’s your favorite lesson on Ben’s site and how has it helped you improve?
I dont’ have a favorite one, all the beginner lessons, since music theory and roll basics helped me a lot.

What’s your goal when playing?
To have fun, learn new songs and keep improving my music skills.

Are there any other instruments or genres of music that you enjoy playing?
I also play acoustic and electric guitar. I usually listen and play rock, metal and its subgenres. But at the same time I enjoy acoustic and folk music.

How long have you been a Gold Pick member?
Since December '17.

Do you have a favorite technique? What is it?
Scruggs style!

If you could play in anyone’s band, who would it be and why?
Any Christian worship service, serving God.

What type of gear or accessories have you found that work best for you?
EMG ACB-5 pickup, Elixir strings and a capo.

If money was no object, what would be your dream instrument(s)?
I would update my current banjo (never played another one!) and would by some good pedal effects.

If you didn’t have to sleep, what would you do with the extra time?
Probably would spend this extra time advancing my music and banjo skills.

Anything else you’d like to add?