Forum - Banjo Ben Clark

Grafted Tomatoes?

First off, I’m addicted to home-grown tomatoes. My entire family is too; and because they live in a cooler climate they rely on me for their tomato supply. The last few years we’ve had problems with various soil borne viruses that have impacted the tomato supply. I generally plant 24 tomatoes, 12 eaters and 12 canners. To address the tomato supply issue, we are planning to graft heirloom varieties onto virus resistant rootstock this year. If the plan is successful, and if the grafted tomatoes produce as advertised, I’ll be swimming in tomatoes by July. I’ve got plenty of experience grafting fruit trees, so I’m confident the process will work. There are a lot of different techniques to graft tomatoes, so if someone has some advice I’d love to hear it. In the meanwhile, I can’t wait to get a toasted tomato sandwich.

Soil borne virus! - Crop rotation springs to mind. If my memory serves me correctly Tomatoes are the same family as Potatoes which is also prone to soil borne diseases - leave the patch of soil fallow for a season or two. Grow other crops in the meantime. Search Google

I don’t have any experience grafting maters but this is really interesting!

As they say, “You can’t buy love, and you can’t buy homegrown tomatoes.” I used to know a guy over at the Agricultural Extension. I would see him drive by my house every now and then. I might have to run out into the street to get him to stop. That is, I hope he’ll stop! I don’t have the room to rotate crops. I’ll give it a try and report back later. If anyone else wants to try a grafted tomato, you can buy them at nurseries, etc. They are a little pricey but if you are just getting one or two it isn’t too bad.

Here in the UK, most gardeners grow tomatoes in pots or growbags in a greenhouse. Replacing the compost each year and using a liquid feeding all adds up. Not sure what the economics of doing that is.