Forum - Banjo Ben Clark

Getting started with Ben's lessons

Hey all!

I’m a new Gold Pick member. I’ve been picking a little guitar and banjo off and on for a few years but I wanted to add a little structure and direction to my learning. This site seemed like the best option for me since it includes both of my instruments.

I wanted to ask the forum on any tips for learning using Ben’s lessons. Do you do one lesson at a time or work on a few simultaneously? Are you keeping a practice journal and, if so, what does it look like? Are you supplementing this program with any books or other online resources? Any other secrets to success with Banjo Ben?

7 Likes

Welcome @EJohn. I going to give the easy answer and point out the on the lessons page there is a list of Learning Tracks for beginning, intermediate, advanced for each instrument. This will give you a structured outline of a lesson plan.

I kind of bounce around depending on what is striking my interest at that time. I wish I could keep up with a practice journal but I seem to get sidetracked from keeping the journal.

You will find a lot of folks on the forum (and @BanjoBen as well) that can give great advice and pointers on this forum. The forum is a really supportive community.

6 Likes

Welcome to the forum, @EJohn!

Ben has done a great job of making his site a one stop shop. There really isn’t much need for external resources. Check out the lesson plans, especially for the banjo. Ben has outlined lessons from beginning to advanced and everything in between.

All of the lessons have tabs, but I encourage you to watch the videos to make sure you’re not developing any bad habits. Try to mimic Ben’s hand and finger positions. Not only is he a master at efficiency, his hand and finger positions help maximize quality tone.

Check back here often and don’t be afraid to post videos of your progress. Ben’s advice on our video posts has helped me multiple times.

6 Likes