Forum - Banjo Ben Clark

Fretting on tempo

This question is about to any of you more experienced players:

I’m a beginner - playing for about three weeks - and enjoying every bit of it. How long did it take y’all before you could keep the left hand tempo going and fret on-time? I’m getting better, but on some notes (D, for example), I have to pause I can resume the rolling. Is this something take takes weeks, months or, gulp, years to accomplish?

• Shan in Virginia
3 Likes

Hi Shan!
First off, that is a normal thing. We have to get our right hand going on tempo, we have to get our left hand going on tempo AND we have to coordinate between our right and left hand. The fact that you are aware of it is awesome, and just being aware of it means that you are already improving it. As far as how long does it take… it will get better in a matter of weeks, but in a way it will be a lifelong journey. The hiccups become less severe over time and we can also typically overcome them more quickly, but as long as we are learning new shapes, patterns and phrases (or pushing new speeds), this is a normal challenge.

In short, my guess is that your fretting hand will soon go to the basic chord shapes without conscious thought. Probably over the next days and weeks. Once that happens, it gets much easier. Let us know how it goes! If it doesn’t improve or you feel stuck, post a video of what is giving you problems.

9 Likes

I agree with @Mike_R, it can be difficult at first but will get significantly easier very soon if you practice often.

4 Likes

Hi Shannon welcome to @Banjoben 's Forum and congratulations on becoming a new banjo player.

I am not really sure I understand your question. Having said that I know where your coming from since it seems learning to play banjo is a mammoth task and that journey starts out with a zillion questions,. I will say you are amongst friends and in the best place to ask these questions.