Forum - Banjo Ben Clark

Fret hand pressure

I’m just starting with the banjo and have a basic question. It seems to me that the pressure you apply to fretting the banjo needs to be lighter than, say, the mandolin or guitar. The banjo seems less forgiving because string tension is slacker and so more sensitive to inadvertent bending and notes sounding sharp, especially up the neck. Do you think this is right? Thanks.

5 Likes

Hi @Timmy I can’t speak for Guitar & Mando players but I can share my own experience and leave it for others to fill in the blanks.

When I was a beginner I used to press way to hard on the strings and ended up with bleeding fingertips. As I gained experience I learned to apply less pressure.

When you apply too much pressure you distort notes likewise if you don’t apply enough pressure you end up with a dud note. Speed also is a factor here as are embellishments to the strings.

In short as you gain experience you’ll learn how much pressure to apply to any given situation. This might not be the advice your seeking but I do hope this is of some help.

1 Like

Thanks Archie. I think what’s going on is that I’m inadvertently using my left hand to help hold up the banjo neck, and as a result I’m bending notes slightly and making them play sharp, if that makes sense. I can hear it when I playback my practice. I think the answer is probably something you figured out long ago – a strap!

2 Likes

You need a strap - balanced correctly - the left hand should not be holding up the banjo neck. Check out this lesson - in particular the Fretting Hand

https://banjobenclark.com/lessons/banjo-hand-positions-banjo?from_track=beginner-banjo

1 Like

Yes, you’re thinking correctly. Can you tell me which banjo you have? Most banjos with a tone ring will balance correctly while sitting in your lap, but if you have something like a Deering Goodtime the neck balance requires you to hold it up while playing.

1 Like