Forum - Banjo Ben Clark

Foot In Mouth Disease

Greetings all! I am new here and thought I would give Banjo Ben a try, I like his videos and instruction.

I have been playing the banjo (off and on) for the past 3 years and it basically winds down like this…I’ll pick it up and learn a few things with tab until I get bored and then end up sitting it down for awhile. My frustration is that I don’t know what to do outside of tab playing…this is why I am here, I want to learn (even master) the banjo, wish me luck in my endeavors!

Now to the Foot in Mouth Disease…I mentioned to a guitar player friend of mine to keep me honest and to not let me slack on playing because I want the extra motivation to keep me going. Well…I didn’t think that through too much. My friend is a 27 year veteran of the US Military with most of his career in Leadership. Not only did he promise to keep me in line, but I got a text this morning that HE SIGNED ME UP FOR OPEN MIC at our local bar in 3 months time!!! Oh boy! I have a lot to learn between now and then. I have been tasked to pick 3 songs to play with him and want to play something fun and maybe a little more modern…he plays classic rock a lot and knows a little bluegrass, but thinking of something that would be super fun to play. Any suggestions out there?

Moral to the story is to make great friends and to be careful what you ask them for! :slight_smile:

7 Likes