Forum - Banjo Ben Clark

Flat picks

On a lark I ordered Teddy’s Neo Tortoise picks by Snark. They were medium heavy and this year have become my favorite. I didn’t realize how much a pick can impact the sound quality. For me, perfect for guitar and mandolin. I also use vintage Fender picks, ivory and wood picks and, even, tourist picks (got 'em in Hawaii). As a reformed classically-trained guitarist/lutenist, picks were not my best friends. But now I wouldn’t go anywhere without my Snarks. :sunglasses:

1 Like

I’ll have to check them out. My wife wanted to get me something I would use for my bday last year and sprung for a Blue Chip pick. I was amazed at the difference in tone and my picking speed with it. Still not 100% convinced it’s worth the $40, but I’m not sure I’d want to go back to anything else, so…

1 Like

I’ve been using a Blue Chip on mandolin for about two years. Worth the $35? I apparently think so as I have three of them. I’ve got Wegans, a Dunlop Primetone or two, all of which are good picks. But the Blue Chip is a great pick. I can’t say with certainty that the tone is necessarily better than a Wegan, but I think I play better. I’m now even getting picky about my Blue Chips, as I’ve loved my CT55 in the past but now I’m starting to think the TAD60 is a better fit. Will it work for you? Eh, that’s the trick: do you take a chance with $35? Well, if you don’t get it engraved then Blue Chip will give you your money back if you don’t like it. No financial interest, just a satisfied customer.

That said, I don’t use Blue Chips on guitar. I still prefer the ol’ .73 Fenders with a turtle on it, a dozen for $5.