Forum - Banjo Ben Clark

Ermagherd! Learning is FUN! Just wrote my first piece of music

I have a tendency to jump around… a LOT. I’ve always done this in everything I do. Especially when I’m new at something. It’s helped me tremendously over the years to get better faster. Today was no exception.

Somewhere, I heard about pentatonic scales, and thought “yeah, I’ll get to those someday, I’m not ready yet”. Then another place mentions them, and another, and another. At this point I’m like “FINE, I’ll figure the stupid things out.”

Today was the day I sat down to just figure them out. Since my musical tastes tend towards blues and rock, I started with the minor pentatonic scale. Position 1 only.

By limiting myself to just one position, I was able to memorize it, and play it up and down the neck. E minor pentatonic position 1 is stupidly simple, so that’s where I’ve spent the most time this morning. In the middle of practice, I hit upon my first riff or lick (haven’t decided, more riffy than licky though…). So, I wrote it down.

I just wrote my first piece of music. MY MUSIC. Does that mean it hasn’t been done a million times before by others? No. Just that I had never heard it before (that I know of) and it was unique to me and my practice.

Oh yeah… this also helped me understand when why to use different timing. 4/4 didn’t fit it, but 3/4 was perfect.

You have no idea how freaking amped I am right now!!!

9 Likes

Sorry, forgot to add this…

I spent the last couple hours putting it together. Might be helpful to others.

Minor, blues and major pentatonic positions and a fretboard (you know… for the kids).

4 Likes

You seem to have too much free time on your hands. Have you ever considered taking up a hobby? :grin:

7 Likes