Forum - Banjo Ben Clark

Ear Training?

I’m very new to the banjo.

Could you share some techniques or resources to enhance skills like relative pitch, recognizing chord progressions, and identifying sharps/flats? I’ve tried using an ear training app called ToneScholar [ https://tonescholar.com ], which has been really good in improving my relative pitch. It’s for singers and voice exercises. I’m not a singer! I’m not looking for another app, i’m seeking tips or advice on how to develop my ear.

Thanks!

2 Likes

Interesting question. While very new to the banjo, it doesn’t sound like you are new to music. As a beginning Beginner, I’m new to both.
So I don’t know of any apps that will help you, but maybe these two things will.

Good luck!

2 Likes

I did Rick Beato’s course for a while. It was fun and I was making progress in relative pitch work, but I quit after a few weeks or a month.

1 Like

I’ve always wondered what his courses were like. Did you just do his ear training program or did you grab the full package?

1 Like

Hey @invisiblewasp, the #1 thing that aided my relative pitch skills was just trial and error – listening and paying attention when I hear a song playing somewhere, and trying to identify intervals that stuck out to me and the chord progression.

You won’t be able to do it perfectly at first, but make your best educated guesses as to what the chord may be or what that interval is in the melody. Imagine what frets you would need to play to play the basic melody on your banjo. Then, when you get home and are back with your instrument, verify and test how good your guesses were. You may be surprised at how much progress you can make without even holding your banjo!