Forum - Banjo Ben Clark

Discuss the Mandolin lesson: You Are My Sunshine

https://banjobenclark.com/lessons/you-are-my-sunshine-mandolin

This is a great one for any picker, even rank beginners! We start with the basic melody and get more and more radioactive as we go.

2 Likes

Ben, Do you just have tabs? I would like to practice this with standard music quotation. I am just a beginner but know how to read music and feel like it would benefit me more then just tab

2 Likes

Hi Amanda

If you have TablEdit it has a feature that allows you to read tef files in Standard Notation.

Open the tef file in TablEdit then click on File on the top menu, Select Options. In the dialogue box check Notation and uncheck TAB. Click on Apply then OK. You may need to Save it to retain those settings.

You can also print these out.

2 Likes

Good call, Archie. I just did a quick check and your instructions work in the TEFView app as well.

2 Likes

Nice to know @Mark_Rocka There’s a lot of features in TablEdit I have yet to figure out. I haven’t managed to work out how to get those Dynamic Volume Settings to work out on individual instruments. It seems to alter things Globally.

Basically what I am trying to do is turn up the volume on the instrument that’s paying the solo and turn down the volume on the backup instruments. Not really sure that’s possible.

I do that all the time. It’s under the MIDI menu in MIDI Options. Here’s a screen shot. The highlighted section is what you’re looking for.

Capture

You should see a separate line for each instrument in the TEF file you have open.

1 Like

Hi Mark I understand that part. What I want to do is turn the volume up and down whilst the tab is playing. I know it’s possible to alter the tempo using a marker inserted into the TAB. I saw it on a TAB years ago but can’t remember how it was done. Again that was a Global setting