Forum - Banjo Ben Clark

Discuss the Mandolin lesson: Forked Deer

https://banjobenclark.com/lessons/forked-deer-mandolin

This is a classic fiddle tune in the key of D that is a lot of fun to play. I built it very basic so beginner players could not only learn a version, but also learn to fill in the melody with 8th notes. Enjoy!

4 Likes

Great lesson. I am enjoying it. I am an experienced player in Celtic but just learning in old time and bluegrass Thanks. Enjoying the course. Not my favorite genre, but I have to get along with others !! LOL

4 Likes

Welcome to the Forum Michael!

Stop by often now you know we are here! :+1:

3 Likes

Fun song! I am brand new to the mandolin, and I keep on messing up with the pick direction, especially when I switch strings or when they throw a quarter note into a series of eighth notes. I’m trying to be aware of it so I don’t develop bad habits, but it sure is hard!

5 Likes

Welcome to the forum Shad!

Hang in there! You’re thinking about it in the right way.

It gets easier as you get more used to it.

Dave

2 Likes

Welcome @Shad!

Pull up a chair and stay awhile…

… and come back often!

1 Like

Love this lesson and tune! Two things I got hung up on, though, while learning.

1. It would be awesome to have the ol’ three-times-through on the backing track instead of just one AABB then tag. I ended up going out to find a couple other good ones on the YouTubes that were 3 and 4 times through. All the starting and stopping of one time through makes it difficult to get in the flow tryna work up a sweat in the proverbial woodshed!

2. My typical approach to Ben’s lessons is to listen a couple times for the melody and then attack the tab for a few days. I realized after two weeks of tab and backing tracks only that I’d been playing it “a bit off” because… seems this here tune is supposed to be played with a swing beat! It would be great to have this noted or mentioned somewhere so others like me don’t miss that in the future.