Forum - Banjo Ben Clark

Discuss the lesson: Inside Cabin Camp: Harmony Singing Workshop

https://banjobenclark.com/lessons/inside-cabin-camp-harmony-singing-workshop-beginner

A brief theory overview of basic harmony, then we put our skills to the test as a group singing “You Are My Sunshine”. This is from spring 2024 Cabin Camp on the Texas farm!

7 Likes

I’ve never done harmony before but this was super interesting. I learned what harmony is and how to create it. My ear isn’t as evolved as it needs to be to hear the parts yet but this was a start.

4 Likes

Duuuuuuuuude! Please do a course on harmony for your members! There are a lot of us who have struggled with this for years! (I mean a long course with your sisters with lots of songs.)

2 Likes

Interesting lesson guy’s

1 Like

Hi @TP11 Todd welcome to @BanjoBen 's Forum. Hopefully the " Duuuuuuuuude! " and his sisters Katy Lou and Penny Lea can fit in your request.

1 Like

I’m with you if there!

Wow, thanks to the Clark Family singers for posting this session! I knew it (harmony singing) existed, but how to do it has been a complete mystery to me. I might even try it now. -d.

4 Likes

Thank you so much for this lesson. I have a lot to learn.

2 Likes

Same as the comment above! I really enjoyed this lesson and the in-person harmony workshop with y’all at the “Banjo Only” 2022 Camp. I’d love more from you and the ladies on this topic!!! I sing a lot of low harmonies, but I know I’m jumping between the proper baritone and bass parts and subbing other low harmonies in the mix - particularly challenging is not doubling an octave below the melody instead of actual harmonies.

3 Likes