Forum - Banjo Ben Clark

Discuss the Guitar lesson: Pick & Hand Fundamentals

https://banjobenclark.com/lessons/pick-hand-fundamentals-guitar-beginner

This is an oldie but a goodie! We’ll discuss what type of flatpick to use and basic pick hand fundamentals to help with accuracy and speed!

2 Likes

This was super helpful! I’ve been playing self-taught guitar for more years than I want to admit! Now my grandson is wanting to learn and I don’t want to teach him wrong so this lesson on holding the pick has made an instant difference. Thank you Banjo Ben!!!

3 Likes

So my question is…do you flatpick in a hammer motion or a screwdriver twisting motion of the hand?

Both! It has to have a hammer movement to strike the string, but the screwdriver dimension to clear the strings when switching between them. Whether you anchor or not is up to you. Here is something worth your time, a short documentary of a good friend of mine, Carl Miner. Skip to the 7:00 mark to see what I’m talking about, but the whole thing is good: https://youtu.be/kMGwH5As72g

2 Likes

Ben…WOW what a great video…thanks for sharing.

1 Like

I have been playing guitar for years and never held my hand closed and remained anchored most of the time. I totally get it! I’m definitely changing that habit. straight away… .

Just make sure to keep your hand free of tension! Don’t “make” a fist.

1 Like

Ben,

Yeah, I’m not clinching. If anything, I’m fighting my fingers from opening up for the anchor.
I never realized how rigid my wrist was until I broke off the anchor!
I’m noticing my strumming is a struggle right now because that anchor (and palm mute) gave me a point of reference for distance in relation to the strings. This floating around is going to take some time.

I always held my pick pretty short. (mainly for pinch harmonics)