Forum - Banjo Ben Clark

Discuss the Guitar lesson: Basic Guitar Rhythm- Part 4

https://banjobenclark.com/lessons/basic-guitar-rhythm-part-4-guitar-beginner

You’re serious and there’s no stopping you now.

58 year old beginner here and my right hand is like a brick. My strumming seems stiff, and the pick, especially on the up-strum, tends to dig into the strings more so than brushing them. Any tips would be much appreciated. Thanks!

Hi Jim, It would help @BanjoBen to help you if you could record a video of yourself playing and post it in the Video Swap area.

BigBear, that is not uncommon. In fact, that is normal and most people will have that kind of trouble to begin with. It will take some time to develop control and finesse with the picking hand. There may be a guitar lesson that applies, but I remembered this pick holding lesson that I think will be beneficial for your right hand. Don’t worry that it shows a mandolin… the mechanics of holding a pick are the same.
https://banjobenclark.com/lessons/holding-the-pick-mandolin-beginner
And there is this which may be be helpful as well
https://banjobenclark.com/lessons/pick-hand-fundamentals-guitar-beginner?from_track=beginner-guitar-checklist