Forum - Banjo Ben Clark

Discuss the Banjo lesson: Essential Banjo Theory

https://banjobenclark.com/lessons/essential-banjo-theory-banjo

Here’s some essential theory that every picker should know, but especially as we begin to build banjo solos and play backup!

1 Like

Just started the Basic Banjo Backup series. And as a younger man I played Piano and can relate to these lessons.
Awesome job of putting this in perspective for me.

1 Like

If somebody such as myself was interested in learning other scales, do you have any suggestions on where to go to learn those?

Depends on the scale, I reckon. Let me know how I can help you!

I must be missing something as I am still learning concept. On your discussion on finding major notes with the 1-1_1/2-1-1-1_1/2 guide, you count down on the low D string, whole, whole, half. But the second whole lands on a F# then half to a G note. Shouldn’t the low D starting at the nut be whole, half, whole, whole, whole, half, to hit the major notes? Your example on the open D string gets us to a full octave but not all the major notes. Did I hear wrong? Thanks.

@mslogowski

Welcome to the forum MIke!

On the D string Ben is showing a D major scale (D, E, F#, G, A, B, C#, D)

F# is two whole steps above the nut on the D string (4th fret)

If you played as you suggest you would get an F note for the third note…not part of the D major scale. (it is part of other scales though…The C scale or D minor scale for example)

Hope this clears things up, if still have questions let us know.

Dave

2 Likes

Welcome @mslogowski!

The open D to the 2nd fret would be the first whole step, then to the F# on the 4th fret would be the 2nd whole step…that make sense?

1 Like

OK, that makes sense now. Just learning theory and didn’t know the D scale has one sharp note.

2 Likes

Actually has two. When you follow it up it also has a C#.