Forum - Banjo Ben Clark

Derek Ralston from Oroville, California!

What was it that first got you interested in playing the guitar, mandolin or banjo?
I grew up in a very musical household where many different styles of music were on tap, via the radio or the record player. I started playing an old Silvertone as a child and loved trying to play anything I could get my hands on, which led to playing all of the above.

How long have you been playing and what’s your motivation to play?
I can’t remember when I wasn’t playing some sort of instrument, but I started playing guitar at about 6, trumpet and piano at 8, mando at around 10, banjo at age 12, stand up bass at 16, and pedal steel at 20.

What’s your favorite lesson on Ben’s site and how has it helped you improve?
It’s tough to pick just one, but when I’m having a day when my fingers aren’t working like they should, I go back to one of the basic lessons, slow down, and get my feet back underneath me.

What’s your goal when playing?
To do my best at feeling like I am a part of the music, but most of all, to have fun!

Are there any other instruments or genres of music that you enjoy playing?
Pedal steel is both my frustration and my love! Any music with a crying steel is good enough for me.

How long have you been a Gold Pick member?
Since December 2017

Do you have a favorite technique? What is it?
I have always tried to emulate the Scruggs technique. It’s fast, clean, and easy on the ears.

If you could play in anyone’s band, who would it be and why?
Poco. It’s a great blend of country, rock and bluegrass with some fantastic pickers!

What type of gear or accessories have you found that work best for you?
Picks that fit well and feel great are essential for banjo and pedal steel playing comfort and sound.

If money was no object, what would be your dream instrument(s)?
A 1926 Gibson ‘Bella Voce’ Tenor to 5-string conversion

If you didn’t have to sleep, what would you do with the extra time?