Forum - Banjo Ben Clark

David Duncan from Hickory, North Carolina

What was it that first got you interested in playing the guitar, mandolin or banjo?
My last year of college, I decided to learn to play guitar in order to help in a ministry to high school kids called “Young Life”. I was involved in this ministry in high school as a participant and then as an adult volunteer after graduating college.

How long have you been playing and what’s your motivation to play?
I have been playing guitar off and on for 28 years now. Wow…seems like I should be a lot better looking at it that way! :slight_smile: I just love the instrument. I love to play at home for relaxation and also at my Church for men’s events.

What’s your favorite lesson on Ben’s site and how has it helped you improve?
Probably the biggest “aha” moment for me came when I learned what the capo could actually do for playing in different keys. I have had quite a few people try to explain this to me over the years, but quite honestly it was Ben’s lesson that actually made the light bulb come on for me. Not sure why I never understood it before, but like I said Ben’s explanation was so simple and comprehendible I now have more confidence in playing different songs at Church.

What’s your goal when playing?
I have been trying to get better at bluegrass music for a LONG TIME… :slight_smile: My poor wife has had to listen to Wildwood Flower played with great mediocrity for 25 years now. Right now I really want to become a solid rhythm player so I can play at jams.

Are there any other instruments or genres of music that you enjoy playing?
Not really. My wife has a mandolin that she is learning using Ben’s site as well. I do enjoy picking around on it too.

If you didn’t have to sleep, what would you do with the extra time?
Practice guitar, read theology books, and keep my wife up…

How long have you been a Gold Pick member?
Since October of 2017

Do you have a favorite technique? What is it?