Forum - Banjo Ben Clark

Dave Cibula from Bradford, Pennsylvania

What was it that first got you interested in playing the guitar, mandolin or banjo?
When I saw the Beatles on Ed Sullivan show in 1964 I wanted to learn guitar. I started taking lessons on acoustic guitar at age 10 .

How long have you been playing and what’s your motivation to play?
I started in 1964 with lessons on the acoustic guitar. I added lessons on bass guitar in 1966. When I got to 9th grade in 1968’ because of my size 6ft 3in 220pounds I was told I should play football. That slowly took me away from music. I played 4 years of high school and 2 years in college. By the time I got to 11th grade I stopped playing to devote more time to football. At the end of my sophomore season in college I tore up my knee. That ended my football days. I got married got a job and had 3 kids. I never picked up a guitar again until I was 48 years old. I can say since the day I started playing again in 2002 I’ve never put the guitar down. In the last 17 years I’ve played in a bluegrass band. Now I’m retired and play more than ever.

What’s your favorite lesson on Ben’s site and how has it helped you improve?
My favorite lesson from Banjo Ben …that’s tough there are so many. I’d have to say The Wreck of Old 97 is one. We play that in the band and Amazing Grace another one we play in the band. I’ve taken Ben’s lesson of The Wreck of Old 97 and added some different licks to it as to fit our bands style.

What’s your goal when playing?
I just enjoy picking the acoustic guitar. My goal is just to have fun.

Are there any other instruments or genres of music that you enjoy playing?
I still play some bass guitar once in awhile. Besides bluegrass I like to play the music I grew up with in the 1960’s. It’s something I enjoy playing when I’m alone. Songs by Bob Dylan, Peter Paul and Mary, Simon and Garfunkel and many more.

How long have you been a Gold Pick member?