Forum - Banjo Ben Clark

Cripple Creek Galloping

Hey new to pickin’ and have been practicing non stop, however i’m having issues with getting out of that galloping sort of sound that Banjo Ben talked about in his Cripple Creek Timing Theory video. Anyone have the same issue? How did you get out of the habit?

3 Likes

Hi Yo, Picker, away! As a beginner, I’m here to offer my expert advice.

The first piece of expert advice is, “You came to the right place!” People here know things and they are most happy to share. Welcome aboard!

Now for my 2 cents - The galloping comes, I believe, because you are into the rhythm rather than the timing. I’m not good at explaining the difference, but it seems to happen when you are playing mostly quarter notes and there are 4 notes per measure. It’s like a weird attempt to make it sound like a song.
It reminds me of a bunch of 1st Graders, when the Principal walks into the classroom and they all say in sing-song, “Good morning Mr. Johnson!” There’s something inside us that makes us want to do the gallop, or the sing-song or the sway from side to side.
When it’s all about the rhythm for us, we run into trouble because as everybody knows, “Timing is everything!”
The next part is “How do you fix it?”
The same way you get to Carnegie Hall. Practice.

2 Likes

Thanks for the advice, I’ll keep at it and break that habit.

1 Like