Forum - Banjo Ben Clark

Condenser Microphones

Anyone have a recommendation for a good mid priced condenser microphone that could be used for both recording and live performance?

Thank You,

Jack

1 Like

Hi Jack Depends on what you would call mid priced I use a Samson C03U USB to connect to my computer. There are variations on this mic. I am no expert, but I think it is a good quality mic…

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2N6xIhewMBA

2 Likes

Appreciate it Archie. It does look like a good one. I was thinking the 150 range, but I would like one that can be plugged into an amp and plugged into an interface device, via an XLR connection.

Im not sure if all condenser mics are phantom powered, but I thing I need one with phantom power too.

Thank You,

Jack

1 Like

I don’t know what your live performances look like, but condenser mics in general are horrible on feedback while on stage. I’m not sure you’re going to find one you like for live shows in the $150 range.

You might be better off saving up and buying 2 mics, one for each purpose.

1 Like

Mark,

I don’t plan to be doing any kind of live performances, but I thought that the way bluegrass bands often perform is to all be around one condenser mic at the same time, with the person soloing often stepping up to that mic.

I basically just want it for some recording or maybe if I’m jamming with one or two people.

So to be a little more clear, Isn’t a condenser mic supposed to be able to pick up everybody singing and playing?

Thank You,

Jack

1 Like

Condensers are typically very “hot” mics. You’d usually want a live sound man at the helm if you’re using one. If you don’t have a sound man, you’d at least need to make sure you don’t have any monitors or mains pointing anywhere near the mic.

1 Like

Thanks Mark. Given the various factors, maybe I’m just not ready for something like this yet.
Happy Thanksgiving. :thinking:

1 Like