Forum - Banjo Ben Clark

Buying a new Mandolin advice

Hi! I’m currently a college student at Texas A&M (gig 'em) and I’m looking to buy my own mandolin! I’ve been using one of my friends old one for a some time now and I picked it up pretty fast, but unfortunately this mandolin I’ve been using is so old (100+ years, its an antique) that its falling apart. I’m wanting to buy my own thats good quality but I can’t afford anything crazy. What mandolins would you suggest thats good quality but also not crazy expensive?

1 Like

Christi, welcome to the board! Anything in Ben’s store might be of good quality. Loar LM-310F F-Style Mandolin is what I bought for my daughter from Ben’s store with some discount.

2 Likes

Honestly, Ben and Jake have a great selection of the brands that I recommended before the store even opened. As far as which one, it depends on your budget. Define crazy :stuck_out_tongue_winking_eye: I have been really impressed with every Eastman I have played, the value is consistently impressive. An Eastman 305 is about $500, and it is a great sounding, great playing instrument. I have played Kentucky and Loars that I liked very much.

I haven’t played one, but the Northfield flat-top is interesting to me. Flat-tops have a different sound (not the prototype 'grass sound), but I do like flat tops as well. You are looking at the right time. 20 years ago, finding a decent mandolin was much more difficult. Happy hunting!!!

2 Likes

Hi @christi_krikorian I would encourage you to email @BanjoBen I am confident he will pull all the stops out to help you find a mandolin to fit your budget. ben@banjobenclark.com

3 Likes

All good advice so far, I’ll add a recommendation for a Kentucky KM150, it’s what I got, and it’s great for the price (slightly cheaper than the Eastman 305)

2 Likes

@christi_krikorian,

WELCOME to the site.