Forum - Banjo Ben Clark

Busking with the Banjo

Greetings to all in Banjo Ben’s community with a special shout out to our terrific leader Ben! This is my first time to post to the forum but I’m encouraged to do so by all who have posted before.

Do any others busk out there (share your craft in public as a soloist?). I’ve just moved to Chicago and am waiting for it to get warm enough to play on or somewhere near the Magificent Mile. If any city could use a banjo tune, Chicago would be near the top of the list! This will be state #8 - I’ve never lived anywhere long enough to settle into a regular jam or start a band. So busking seems to be my destiny.

I did some busking when living in Vienna, VA and, while intimidating at first to play in public, found it to be well received. I met some wonderful people along the way. I figured why am I playing to no one in my house - shouldn’t I put myself out there and see if banjo music can bring a smile to someone?

Interested in others’ experiences and thoughts on this topic!

Jay

2 Likes

Hey Jay, I think this is my first reply to a post, besides a video or two. I’ve never busked per say, but I do carry a beater banjo in the back of my truck and practice all the time in parking lots while I wait for my wife as she takes of business errands, appts meetings etc. She doesn’t drive so I do, do this a whole lot. Even just sitting in my truck I meet many wonderful folks that stop by, listen, talk, smile, and share their stories. It’s fun stuff. My thought, is go for it if you got it and enjoy it. Personally I know I’d enjoy it if I had it, but as a solo entertainer uh-noosiree.

Butch B.

1 Like

hey @jayalverson3 - glad to you decided to chime in on the forum.