Forum - Banjo Ben Clark

Bridge question

Complete newbie here. I keep hearing that you want to change your bridge for better sound, so I bought a Deering Smile Bridge from the store. Problem is: there’s no instructions, and I can’t find my answer in Google either. How do you know which direction the bridge should face?

One side is flat and the other is angled. Does the flat side face the neck or the tail piece?

2 Likes

Hey @mike.thomson, welcome!

Looks like Steve Huber has the angled side facing the tailpiece and the flat side facing the neck:

I’m not sure how much it actually matters, though.

2 Likes

Put the smile toward the headstock :slight_smile:

5 Likes

Thank you kindly!

2 Likes

Got the bridge installed, and I’ll be darned if the banjo sounds a little brighter. I’ve heard that the bridge can make a big difference, but honestly didn’t think my untrained ears would be able to hear the difference. Well, I guess I can.

Which makes me wonder: If I can hear a difference, how much would an experienced player hear?

I have an Ibanez B200, and looking at the bridge it came with versus the Deering bridge, the OEM one is much thicker. I’m wondering if the thinner Deering transmits the string vibrations better because it’s thinner?

Regardless, I’m very happy I got the Deering bridge. It’s an improvement over the OEM bridge for sure.

4 Likes

Welcome to the weeds! As a Beginner, I’m here to offer my expert opinion.
Once you start wondering about bridge thickness, the floodgates are open! It’s no longer a question of “how many angels can dance on the head of a pin.” Now you want to know if the pin can hold more dancing angels if they are doing a waltz or the polka.
There will be no piece of banjo minutia too arcane for you. You might find yourself watching this video on banjo strings:

Wading thru the weeds can be exhausting, but the more you understand your banjo, the more you will have to practice…so it works out pretty well in the long run.