Forum - Banjo Ben Clark

Brian Warner from Fort Collins, CO!

What was it that first got you interested in playing the guitar, mandolin or banjo?
When I was 10 years old I was lucky enough to get 2 guitar lessons from a young college student in my hometown. He played a Martin guitar and I thought he was the coolest guy I ever met. He taught me a song out of Mel Bay’s guitar lesson book. I had to stop because my family couldn’t afford any more lessons. But it stuck in me.

How long have you been playing and what’s your motivation to play?
I have been playing seriously since 2010. My motivation to play simply put is GOD! There was a rough patch in my life and I prayed to find passion for something. God answered with a Martin guitar just like the one that cool college guy who gave me my first lesson all those years ago had! I haven’t stopped since.

What’s your favorite lesson on Ben’s site and how has it helped you improve?
Swing! I love playing swing music. I’m still working on it (as it comes hard for me.) I listened to Bob Wills as a kid and fell in love with that sound. I want to become completely proficient at it like Ben’s sister! I’m not there yet but it has loosened up my fingers to unusual positioning to which I was previously unaccustomed. The rhythm lessons.

strong textWhat’s your goal when playing?
I love to play a song without a mistake. Boy have I misfired at times! I like those listening to me to see and hear passion and display something real! I was able to play in the open mic session at the 36th annual Cowboy Poetry Gathering in Elko NV last this past Jan and I almost pulled off my 3 song set without a goof. But they treat you like a king. It was a rush.

Are there any other instruments or genres of music that you enjoy playing?