Forum - Banjo Ben Clark

Brand new! Hello all

I just upgraded from the trial Gold pick to the yearly Gold pick membership.
I am an absolute beginner but have a good grasp on music theory and can for the most part read sheet music.
My question is outside of this video training by Ben, do you think it would be valuable as well to take a few face to face training sessions with an instructor to help get my fret hand placements correct.
I’m finding it difficult to fret some of the chords without also accidently hitting the other strings.

Happy New Year everyone by the way!

4 Likes

Welcome, @ncbwilson! I’m honored to have you on board! I would recommend you get a couple lessons, sure…can’t hurt (usually!). Also, be sure and take advantage of the Video Swap forum category. You can upload vids of your playing and we’ll give you helpful feedback, just like having someone in the room with you!

1 Like

Hey Brad! Good to have you!

I highly recommend going through the Beginners checklist lesson by lesson. Ben covers practically all of the basics in there. If you have any questions, there are plenty of people here to help out. You usually can’t go wrong with face to face lessons, but it really depends of the caliber of your teacher. If it were me, I’d start with the videos and message board here and see if you can save some money.

Looking forward to seeing your progress!

1 Like

Hi Brad, A word of caution, not ALL teachers are as good as @BanjoBen I spent a lot of money on live lessons and lesson materials after following some poor advice. If the face to face lessons with an other teacher don’t match Ben’s high standards my advice would be to save the money and upgrade to a LIFE MEMBERSHIP with Ben.

3 Likes

Welcome aboard !
we are a happy bunch!
and as @Mark_Rocka said always fun to see people progress.
And a happy new year to you too :smiley:

Thanks everyone, will go through the video series in the beginner track first to see if I can get things corrected first.