Forum - Banjo Ben Clark

Bluegrass vs Olde Time, resonator vs open-back

Ben and Team:

I’m pretty new to this, but I’m happy to report that I’m truckin’ right along on the banjo track. I can’t say enough how much I enjoy the lessons and the teaching materials. Eventually I will upgrade my banjo. My Deering Goodtime Artisan 2 is fine for now, but I have not decided whether I will go for another resonator banjo or an open back.

Boils down to this: do you think the resonator and open-back are limited to bluegrass and clawhammer, respectively?

I’ve heard some folks to say that you can play either style on either banjo, and I’m sure that’s true. If the sound projection is the key selling point in a bluegrass resonator banjo, that’s not an issue for me. I’m strictly a living room warrior for now. I look at, say, ol’ Pete Seeger with his long-neck open back banjo, and think ‘why not?’ I also like the idea of a lighter, more portable banjo that’s easier to travel with than a 15 pound mahogany log. However, I do want a quality, professional banjo that will last me for many years to come. Any recommendations?

4 Likes

If you found a resonator banjo you couldn’t live without and still wanted an open back I believe you can convert your good time to an open back. There is a kit to add a resonator to a open back good time. That being the case, I feel sure you could reverse the process by removing the flange. Perhaps that seems a little backwards, but is an option. Here are the instructions for the kit.

1 Like

It is mostly that way in the professional world– an open-back banjo just will not have the powerful, driving tone of a resonator banjo. That tone that hits you like the crack of a baseball and bat, like a train ripping through the crisp mountain air… the banjo sound that provides the driving force behind the music of Flatt & Scruggs, the New South, the Bluegrass Album Band, and a plethora of other bluegrass bands… THAT sound undeniably belongs to the resonator banjo.