Forum - Banjo Ben Clark

Best Instrument for 12-Year-Old to Learn

Hi, I’m new to the forum!

Our younger (12yo) son wants to learn to play an instrument. His older brother (15yo) has been taking piano lessons for a few years … but the 12yo doesn’t seem drawn to it. At one time, he seemed interested in the guitar. More recently, he said he wanted to learn the banjo. This week, he’s talking about the mandolin. I have ZERO musical experience. (My wife learned to play the piano when she was young, but she doesn’t play it now.) I think he can be happy taking any of those paths, but if he’s likely to progress quicker and/or have fewer frustrations with one of these instruments, we’d like to encourage him in that direction.

Also, I’ve read some posts here that trying to get by with a “cheap” instrument can lead to a lot of frustration. Again, I have no musical experience, but the concept makes sense. So, perhaps a consideration is the availability of reasonable-quality beginner’s instruments in one category but not the others?

Any suggestions? Thoughts?

1 Like

There’s already a piano in the house, so no additional investment is a good thing, even though he’s not showing a whole lot of interest at this time.

Perhaps if his brother showed him a C, F, and G chord, he may become a bit more interested, because he’ll be able to play thousands of songs with just these three chords, and he won’t have to think about any of the black keys.

Another huge plus, is that if you learn the piano first, you can learn any instrument after. Just ask Ben.

Just a thought.

Jack

1 Like

A lot to consider there.

It’s not his age that should be considered so much as his interest in the instrument itself.