Forum - Banjo Ben Clark

Bela Fleck Celtic Medley - how to play, how to make tab

I love the Celtic melody in that Bela Fleck song. I would love to learn how to play it, but I cannot find any tabs for it. I do not mind making my own, but I am new to banjo and do not know how to start. How do you go about identifying notes and strings other musicians are using so you can make the tab for it?

1 Like

Hi Joe, This is not a skill I possess so I am unable to offer any direct help. Have you tried writing to Bela ?

In my experience professional players are a lot more approachable than you might think and you have a 50% chance that you will get a positive response. Certainly worth a try. Check out his website.

1 Like

That’s a really tough skill to master. Identifying notes is hard enough, especially when a full band is overlaying the main instrument, but correctly identifying which string and fret to play really makes it tough. There are some notes that could be played in 3, maybe even 4 places on the neck. So the trick is to put the notes in context with surrounding notes in hopes of finding a hand position that makes sense.

If you can find him playing it on video, that helps a lot. Otherwise, I recommend Archie’s suggestion.

2 Likes

Hi Joe,

There are a couple of guy’s over on the Banjo Hangout that tab stuff out from scratch, Jack Baker, Richard Van Patten and Mooooo are some that spring to mind who may be willing to help. Also Tom Arri https://banjotom2.org/ has produced some great TABs from scratch. Tom & Jack are the guy’s that helped me get started with TablEdit.

1 Like