Forum - Banjo Ben Clark

Beginner, after 2 years of playing

I started playing banjo 2 years ago, and jumped from 1 instructor and course to another…thereby learning in a somewhat ‘willy nilly’ way( that’s a technical term). I can play most of the rolls and left hand techniques, a few simple songs-but something was definately missing. I had heard good things about Banjo Ben, and his course, and decided to join last week, as a Gold Pick member. I’m so happy I did. After looking through the extensive website, I decided to start over as a beginner. Even tho I’ve been playing for 2 years, I’ve discovered funamental mechanics, and theories I never knew about. Ben lays everything out in such an organized, fun and easy to understand fashion - he makes it enjoyable…altho it can still get frustrating!
There is a caboose to this train of thought…I’ve printed out a number of PDFs - Boil dem cabbage
( using the different rolls and starting fingers), worried man blues (forward/reverse roll), square mixed roll ( I had NO idea there were so many combinations !)- even Intro to Melodics, in hopes I could somehow learn that awesome Dixie Doodle tune.
My question is this- since I have been playing for a while and am familiar with alot of the basics… should I practice ALL of them until I feel comfortable or stick with one at a time before I move on to the next challenge? So much to learn… but I’m having a blast… and I intend to stay @ Banjo Ben!
Thanks Ben

7 Likes

I’m sure honored to have you on board and appreciate your kind words! You don’t have to have each one perfected before moving on. But, I do recommend you continue as you are and be exposed to all the material so that it will be clear if I cover something you have never considered.

Hi Chuck,