Forum - Banjo Ben Clark

Banjo Tone

Anyone know how to make your banjo have a bright ringing tone with great sustain? I know that it was once popular to put brass nuts on a guitar for sustain. Any suggestions for banjos?
Jack

Hey Jack

I am no expert but I replaced the frosted head on my Fender FB58 for a smooth white plastic REMO head and it really has a bright tone. I am not sure that I like it all that much even after about five years and have decided to put a frosted head on when I next replace the strings.

If your banjo is a bit dull tweak up the tension hooks a little that might be just enough get more sustain.

Disclaimer if you don’t know how to do this seek out a Luthier or someone who knows and can teach you. As a banjo player it is essential that you need to learn some basic skills of how to maintain of your instrument.

Ben has posted a great tutorial on Banjo Set Up by Steve Huber and I would encourage you to watch this seven part course. https://banjobenclark.com/courses/banjo-setup-with-steve-huber

1 Like

Thanks Archie. Good advice. I’ve watched that whole video. It covered a ton of stuff. I did have a luthier set it up and he did a good job, but I had to loosen a couple hooks when I installed the banjo strap, which led to the intonation going out and some of the brightness lost.

Guess I’ll either take or back to the luthier or mess with it myself. I love a really bright, ringing tone.

Jack

2 Likes

There are so many variables here that I can’t begin to tell you what it could be, but I would take it back to a luthier if you have a chance.

3 Likes

It was recommended to me to tune my banjo head using a drum dial. I’d never heard of this method, but after watching some YouTube videos about it, it seemed like a good idea.