Forum - Banjo Ben Clark

Absolute Beginner Camp

Any plans in the next 1-3 years for an “absolute beginner” camp maybe down South ?? Or ??? :crossed_fingers:

3 Likes

Although I have never been to a Cabin Camp, what I have gleaned from Forum chatter is that pretty much every camp is a “beginner’s camp.” In other words, they are reputed to do a very good job at matching your skill with the right people.

And lets face it, we’ll never learn anything hanging around with another bunch of beginner’s.

2 Likes

I live just a couple hours south of Nashville, so I’ve been to a few camps. Ben, Katy Lou, and anyone else there will make you feel comfortable with your discomfort —very friendly and absolutely a no judgement zone. You’ll experience being on a stage with a supportive audience. By the way, everyone messes up, but the exposure helps us down a great path. And the lessons won’t go over your head. Just a lot of good stuff to work on before you decide to go to another camp. Highly recommended even for raw beginners.

2 Likes

If you’re talking banjo, my banjo-only camp that happens in October has a class explicitly for absolute beginners. I plan to do the same in '24.

6 Likes

GREAT !!! Something to look forward to.
Any idea where it might be held next year ?
Would you consider Florida ???:crossed_fingers:

I’ll probably always hold the banjo-only camp on my farm here in Texas. I do a one-day camp in St. Pete, Fl, each March: https://store.banjobenclark.com/blogs/banjo-bens-blog/cabin-camps

Thanks Ben. I did see that St. Pete camp but (unfortunately) also saw that currently,
it would be too advanced for me.
BUT … it DOES provide me with a long term goal to achieve :+1:
Thanks again.

I don’t know @kooseman. I would consider challenging yourself and I’d bet that you’re way underestimating the value you would receive from the camp.

3 Likes