Forum - Banjo Ben Clark

A question for banjoists (and mandolinists)

So, I’m relatively new to mandolin (been playing less than a year) and I’ve got a question. How do you make a mandolin solo for a banjo tune? I’ve got some experience making banjo solos to mandolin/fiddle tunes, but how do you reverse it? And is there any lessons here that really explain that?

I know I’m far from the best person to be answering your question, but if I were trying to write a mando break, I’d probably start by learning my way around the fret board with this mando pentatonic lesson.

https://banjobenclark.com/lessons/introduction-to-pentatonic-scales-mandolin

Then I’d tab out the melody of the banjo tune one note at a time and work in some of those pentatonic notes around the melody. Then you could even throw in some notes not in the pentatonic scale for flavor.

3 Likes

I generally just ask Mark to make me a solo :grin:

What Mark said pretty well echos what I learned from Ben… figure out the basic melody, then spice it up to your liking with additional notes, licks, alternate phrasing, alternate notes, etc. There are some tools that are more prevalent in mando as opposed to banjo such as double stops and tremolo. Also the short scale makes it easy(er) to jump up or down an octave.

2 Likes

Well figuring out the basic melody isn’t too hard, it’s the spicing it up I need help with. I figure it’s probably something that I’ll learn in time, but that time is now. Are there any mandolin lessons on here for specifically banjo tunes?

How about John Henry?

https://banjobenclark.com/lessons/john-henry-mandolin-advanced

2 Likes

That’ll work thanks. I’ll check that out before I go about learning Christmas songs :grin:

I’ve never thought of banjo tunes being a different animal. I might be missing something, but I would think all the build-a-break and bag-o-licks lessons would apply to that task.

1 Like

What Mark and Mike said. It all starts with the melody.