Forum - Banjo Ben Clark

A couple of random questions from a newbie

I am a newbie who just started about a month ago and I"m really enjoying the journey thanks to Banjo Ben and the other helpful people in this forum. I have no other instructor here, so I have a couple of random questions I"m hoping you guys can answer.

1. Recently when I play the middle G string it’s started vibrating my high g string. What would cause this and how do I fix it?
  2. I have some marks on the head of my banjo which I believe came from an over eager few days where I tried playing faster than I should have and scratched the head a bit. I’ve attached a picture. Is this the cause? If not, what is causing it. I’m not greatly concerned about it as in a year I plan on buying a nicer banjo, but while I think I’ve fixed the issue of hitting the head, it would be easier to tell if I could clean off these marks and see if they come back. Any ideas on how to do this?
  1. I have no idea. Could be your 5th string has come off its nut & is touching the fret? (shrug)

2. The head is easy to clean. Just use a Mr Clean Magic Eraser or some equivalent.
    Works like a charm. The little dampness won’t hurt the head since it’s made of plastic.

1 Like

Hi @pastormac David

Q1. Frequency Modulation. Both strings are tuned to G so your drone string, the short one is osculating in harmony. Worth checking to see if the pip has cracked, if you’ve been a bit heavy handed with your thumb pick.

Q2. This is common on the frosted head. It’s gonna get bigger over time. Some players look on it as a badge of honour. The marks running parallel to the strings are sweat marks. Keep a paper towel handy and wipe the underside of the strings frequently that should help reduce the dark patches.

2 Likes