Forum - Banjo Ben Clark

2 months - no video

I’ve been trying to get a video made for the past hour. I’m about to throw my phone and / or banjo across the room. (not really, just a LOT frustrated)

I’ve learned so much in two months, and I just wanted to put it on video as a reference for future me. However, every dang time I turn on the camera, I forget how to play. No kidding. I can play the basic slide version of Cripple Creek through smoothly 90% of the time when I’m just practicing. Turn on a camera, and that drops to 0.001% of the time. It’s truly astounding how bad I get when a camera is on. Or even a digital recorder for just audio.

Anywho… enough complaining…

It’s been exactly 2 months since my banjo arrived and I started practicing. I’m truly floored at how much I’ve learned in such a short period of time. Can I play fast? Not yet. Do I care about speed anymore? Not really. It’ll come eventually.

I can play some of the songs pretty okay most of the time. Others, I’m getting better. Regardless, I’m having an absolute blast. I practice everyday, and I look forward to it. It’s some of the most relaxing time of day for me. Some days even more so that making photos. THAT is saying something.

Also, just got my new guitar (Eastman E8D from the General Store), and had a chance to practice some of the chords. Wow. That’s a great way to stretch out before playing banjo! Even in my clumsy mitts, that guitar sounds incredible. I’m looking forward to the day I can do it justice.

So, that’s my 2 month update. Wish I could have gotten a representative video… oh well. Such is life sometimes. :slight_smile:

Hope your days are going well!

16 Likes

good_post Been there. Have faith it will come

7 Likes

sorry to read of your frustrations, but to be honest the only way to get over that is to just do it.