Forum - Banjo Ben Clark

10 Year Anniversary - Proud to be a Banjo Ben Student

I used to be a wanna-be banjo player - now I are one!

I am a retired Laser Printer Engineer. Married with two daughters, four grand daughters and a grandson. Started learning to play the five string banjo for a hobby in 2008 when I was 61. I learned the fundamentals from the Murphy Method DVDs and Geoff Hohwald’s Watch and Learn download lessons, Geoff did a lot to encourage and inspire me in those early years, through regular email exchanges where we discussed the lack of lessons on Back Up and Improvisation as a result of these exchanges Geoff went on to develop a series of new lessons on Back Up, Pentatonic and Basic Improvisation. It was Geoff that taught me how to read tablature which enabled me to go forward and study more advanced lessons.

“Sources of materials studied” intermediate/advanced banjo DVDs Alan Munde, Bill Evans, Tom Adams, John Lawless, Tony Trischka, Greg Cahill, Ron Block, Jim Mills to name but a few I’ve also studied TAB books by Earl Scruggs, Bill Keith, Janet Davis, Jack Hatfield and JD Crowe’s Acutab Publication. Also Jack Baker & the Late Tom Arri (Banjo Tom2) from the Banjo Hangout.

I was in my first or perhaps second year studying banjo when one day I stumbled on a cocky red haired boy on YouTube pickin banjo and began to follow his progress as a young up and coming teacher as he began carving out a livelihood online.

I joined BanjoBenClark.com as a Life Member in 2013 and assisted with the Beta Testing of the current website with @Mark_Rocka and @Dave_Long. My progress as a banjo player has steadily improved over these past ten years thanks to Banjo Ben’s excellent teaching skills, his detailed lessons and accurate tablature.