Mother Earth - Giving Something Back

Over here in Europe we are hearing a lot about President Donald Trump ignoring the warnings of the world’s scientific community on climate change and his decision to withdrawal from the Paris Climate Change Agreement…

Now I am no scientist but I have been kicking around this planet now for over 70 years and in that time I have witnessed some dramatic changes to our planet Mother Earth.

I have saw footage of towering black smoke from burning oil wells that blackened the sky over Kuwait for years, massive oil spills in our oceans through tanker spillage and offshore oil well accidents. colossal open cast mining in every corner of the world. rain forests cut down on a massive scale. wild forest fires in Australia, Europe and the US. Oceans polluted with man made plastic waste. Soil from the prairie wheat fields blown away leaving a dust bowl of infertile land and in this past year alone some huge storms hitting the Caribbean islands, southern states of the US and over here in the UK causing massive flooding. Now all this news is in the past and largely forgotten except for those who have to pick up the pieces and start having to rebuild their lives.

But honestly have you ever stopped to wonder what long term impact these events have had on our planet ?

Now all this could be just fake news but as a layman it seems to me President Trump has his head stuck in a bucket of sand. I can understand he as to fulfil certain promises to the folks that elected him. The coalminers in particular. But come on Donald fake news really ?

Whatever your political views are on climate change there is one small thing that you can do to give something back to Mother Earth