Forum - Banjo Ben Clark

Jordan Maendel from Kent, United Kingdom!

What was it that first got you interested in playing the guitar, mandolin or banjo?
I first started playing mandolin in 6th grade. I thought it sounded great in different songs I had heard. The subtle background melodies, the chop, and the ripping solo leads were intriguing. I also was interested in playing drums. I earned money for my first mandolin by parking cars at a classical music venue in my hometown of Norfolk, Connecticut. One evening The Band came to town. I was able to get in for free (after all the cars were parked). When I saw Levon Helm strumming on a mandolin, playing drums, and singing at the same time I knew I had picked the right instrument.

How long have you been playing and what’s your motivation to play?
I have been playing mandolin for 30 years. A big motivator to play better is the teenage folk band I lead at the high school I teach at in England. We cover classics from John Denver and other artists, as well as experimenting with bluegrass covers of songs by the likes of Dylan and The Allman Brothers. We have come across a lot of new original material that is really fun as well. As of now, we have not written any of our own songs, but perhaps in the future. Each year around 10 students sign up for the band and we practice two times a week. The whole student body is involved in two concerts we put on each year, and our Folk Band usually performs 6 or 7 songs. In addition to the concerts, I try and schedule in a handful of events at local venues just to give the students practice and more confidence playing together in public. For some of them, it’s the first time performing, and a few have even learned a new instrument our band was in need of.

What’s your favorite lesson on Ben’s site and how has it helped you improve?